FIFA to investigate latest Suarez bite

_75812161_75812160

Refs didn’t penalize Uruguay’s Luis Suarez for allegedly biting Italy’s Giorgio Chiellini near the end of Uruguay’s 1-0 win on Tuesday, but he’ll pay for it real soon.

No, wait. Let’s strike allegedly from that last sentence. He bit him… He bit him good.

Suarez will likely face a lengthy ban for this one, but it won’t be his first ban and certainly not his first on-field bite. He’s been banned for biting opponents twice –  In 2013, banned for 10 matches for biting Chelsea’s Branislav Ivanovic and in 2010, a seven-game ban for biting PSV Eindhoven’s Otman Bakkal.

“We are awaiting the official match reports and will gather all the necessary elements in order to evaluate the matter,” a FIFA spokesperson told the Associated Press (via ESPN).

Italy coach Cesare Prandelli, who immediately resigned after the farce: “I didn’t see Suarez biting him but I saw the bite-marks on his shoulder but the referee’s assistants were so busy they didn’t see anything. It’s a shame, it’s a real shame that it turned out like this.”

This newly released camera angle shot takes all the guesswork of whether it was a bite or not:

suarez

Powered by